The Session

The Session is charged with spiritual oversight of the life of the congregation. The membership of the Session consists of ordained and installed Ruling Elders and Teaching Elders (Pastors), all elected by the congregation. In addition to possessing the necessary gifts and abilities for leading the congregation, those who undertake the ministry of Ruling Elder should be persons of strong faith, dedicated discipleship, and love of Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord. Their manner of life should be a demonstration of the Christian gospel in the church and in the world.

The Session carries out its work primarily through its Standing Committees as well as through task forces, commissions, and other committees. Terms of service for members of the Session begin with ordination and/or installation, traditionally in January.

In their service on the Session, on Standing Committees, task
forces, commissions, and other committees, members of the Session
play a dual role:

As members of the Session, they are responsible for the spiritual oversight of the congregation and for oversight of all the programs
and ministries of St. Philip. In the fulfillment of this role, they are expected to be concerned with whether St. Philip’s programs and ministries are faithful and effective expressions of St. Philip’s mission
as a congregation of Christ’s Church. They act as the policy-making
body of the congregation.

As members of Standing Committees and other working groups,
they are responsible for working with others in planning, implementing,
and evaluating particular programs and ministries of St. Philip and for communicating to the entire Session all information necessary for the Session to exercise its role of spiritual stewardship. The Session as
a body is responsible for communicating to the congregation.


Members of the Session

Class of 2023
Gary Gardner
Susan Lange
Liz Miguez
Jeromy Murphy
Diana Weiss
Butch Wilson
Jennifer Wilson

John Lemen: Clerk of Session

Rhonda Sands: Treasurer

Class of 2024
Melissa Aldrich
Beth Atkinson
Walker Fair
Angelina Fonseca
Nancy Higgs
Susan Leonard
Jon Martin

Class of 2025

Dan Boston
Laura Burgess
Maggie Dement
William Howard
Mary Thornton McGuire
Gary Whitney
Nancy Beck Young


The Diaconate

Beth Atkinson
Jane Cooper
Governor Frazier



Bob Ardell




Melissa Aldrich | Chair
Beth Atkinson

Liz Miguez | Chair
Laura Burgess


Beth Atkinson | Chair
Dan Boston
Jon Martin
Butch Wilson


Susan Leonard | Chair
William Howard

Welcome & Membership

Diana Weiss | Chair
Walker Fair
Susan Leonard

Worship & Music
Gary Gardner | Chair
Maggie Dement
Gary Whitney


St. Philip is a member of the Presbyterian Church - USA
4807 San Felipe Street, Houston, TX 77056 - Ph. (713) 622-4807